Hello Fish

Food | Tips | Recipes

What Are The Different Types Of Sushi?

What Are The Different Types Of Sushi
Six main types of sushi

  • Sashimi.
  • Nigiri.
  • Chirashi.
  • Maki.
  • Uramaki.
  • Temaki.

How many sushi varieties are there?

Five Major Types of Sushi

Type of Sushi Description Notes
Nigiri A topping, usually fish, served on top of sushi rice Not all nigiri is raw, though this dish is best for people who want to appreciate the flavor of the fish, shellfish, or other toppings
Sashimi Fish or shellfish served alone (no rice) This is best for people who really love to taste the fish or shellfish since it comes with nothing else
Maki Rice and filling wrapped in seaweed This is what most people think of when they think of sushi rolls
Uramaki Similar to the above, but rice is on the outside and seaweed wraps around the filling These rolls often have lots of toppings and sauces — they may either be cooked or raw
Temaki Sushi that has been hand-rolled into a cone shape The cones are not as easy to share as the rolls (though very delicious!)

Here is a brief summary of the situation. You can scroll down to view images and additional information about each type.

The roll is then cut into 6 to 8 pieces and served with wasabi, soy sauce, and pickled ginger.

What is the most popular sushi in Japan?

1. Nigiri Sushi. Nigiri sushi (hand-pressed) is the most popular type of sushi in Japan and is uniquely shaped by the chef’s hands. It consists of a bed of vinegared rice formed by hand into an oval shape and topped with neta (fish).