Hello Fish

Food | Tips | Recipes

What Are Types Of Sushi?

What Are Types Of Sushi
Six main types of sushi

  • Sashimi.
  • Nigiri.
  • Chirashi.
  • Maki.
  • Uramaki.
  • Temaki.

What is the name for regular sushi?

Nigiri is the original form of sushi that we are familiar with today. Also known as edo-mae (meaning “in front of Edo”), the name refers to Tokyo, its birthplace (formerly Edo). It consists of a cylinder of hand-pressed rice (shari) topped with a variety of ingredients ( neta ).

Sushi is believed to have been invented as a type of “fast food” by an enterprising sushi chef in the Edo region during the 1800s who decided to sell his freshly made sushi to nearby workers as a quick snack. The topping can be seafood, vegetables, meat, omelet, or tofu, and in addition to fresh seafood, the fish can also be pickled in soy sauce or vinegar, or charbroiled with a blowtorch.

A simple marinade coating and garnishes including spring onions, shaved onion, or chives may also be added. What Are Types Of Sushi